Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence Geotechnical Science and Engineering


  1. Workshop on Transport & Energy Infrastructure

    The Centre for Geomechanics and Railway Engineering through the ARC Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering is holding a workshop on Transport and Energy Infrastructure: Research and Practice at the University of Wollongong.

    Early bird registration $270 inc GST closes 30 May 2014 Download Flyer

  2. Future Fellowship for Andrei Lyamin

    Professor Andrei Lyamin has been awarded $766,856 for an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship entitled ‘Variational Multiscale Modelling of Granular Materials’.

    Granular materials play an important role in a wide range of problems related to physical infrastructure. These include landslides and similar catastrophic events which can result in a loss of life and major property damage. This project will develop new methods for improved simulation of granular flows to allow the formulation of efficient risk mitigation strategies. Application of the new methods to assess risk will lead to more cost-effective designs of civil infrastructure in risk prone areas, as well as better safety outcomes.

    Professor Lyamin is a Chief Investigator in the Centre and is based at the Newcastle Node.


  3. Prestigious Fellowship for Mark Cassidy

    Laureate Professor Mark Cassidy.Professor Mark Cassidy, Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering, has been awarded a prestigious Australian Laureate Fellowship from the ARC. It is one of only 17 Laureate Fellowships awarded in 2013, and he is the only recipient based in Western Australia. Professor Cassidy is a leading researcher whose work has helped make offshore oil and gas platforms safer and more stable. This brings the number of Laureate Fellows in the Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science & Engineering to two, with Laureate Professor Scott Sloan being the other.

    Mark’s Fellowship – worth more than $3 million – is for the project ‘New Frontiers in Offshore Geotechnics: Securing Australia’s Energy Future’. The inaugural Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow is also the Director of the Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems at UWA and in 2011 was appointed as a member of the ARC College of Experts for Engineering, Mathematics and Informatics. Mark made the following comments: “Offshore gas lies at the heart of Australia’s prosperity with $120 billion of infrastructure under construction. But the future of offshore gas requires new technology to safely build offshore foundations in our weak and problematic soils. This project will provide engineers with science-based tools to unlock the natural gas stranded in our deep oceans.”

    Mark’s research interests are in offshore geotechnics and engineering, predominantly developing wave-structure-soil interaction models for the analysis of oil and gas platforms, mobile drilling rigs and pipelines. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and has received numerous other distinctions including being named the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Australian Physical Scientist of the Year and winning the WA Premier’s Early Career Achievement Award for excellence in science education, research and achievement. The ARC’s Laureate Fellowship scheme supports excellence in research at Australian universities by attracting world-class researchers and research leaders to key positions. Further information and a full list of awardees can be found here.

  4. CGSE’s Researchers win Gas Technology Innovation Awards

    Researchers from The University of Western Australia node, the Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems and the School of Civil and Resource Engineering swept the board in the Australian Gas Technology Innovation Awards, held last month at the AGT Conference. In the pre-commercial category, two UWA entries could not be separated by the judges and were announced as joint winners.The first winner was UWA’s O-Tube Program, which is developing new methods for the design of subsea pipelines, accounting for ocean-pipeline-seabed interaction. O-Tube Research Team Leader Professor Cheng said he was delighted to accept the award.

    “The O-Tube program is developing new methods for the design of subsea pipelines. It is globally unique and allows the seabed conditions during cyclones to be mimicked on a large-scale in the laboratory,” Professor Cheng said.

    Gas Technology Innovation Award Winners.
    Congratulations to the O-tube team: Liang Cheng, David White, Hongwei An, Scott Draper, Tuarn Brown, Chengcai Luo, Qin Zhang, Henning Mohr and Alex Duff. This is the fourth award scooped by the O-tube since it began operations three years ago.The second winner was UWA’s Remote Intelligent Geotechnical Seabed Survey technology (RIGSS). UWA’s Shell EMI Chair of Offshore Engineering, Professor David White, explained that RIGSS involved a new approach to seabed characterisation.

    “We are developing better tools that include our hemiball and toroidal penetrometers, and new technology derived from our centrifuge facilities to control these tools robotically at the seabed. It allows our engineers to determine the behaviour of pipelines and other infrastructure on soft, fine-grained seabeds,” he said.

    The O-Tube at UWA.

    Congratulations to the RIGSS team: David White, David Russell-Cargill, Yue Yan, Sam Stanier, Conleth O’loughlin and Mark Randolph. A new Joint Industry Project is planned around this technology.

  5. Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Research Partnership

    Professor Buddhima Indraratna, Associate Professor Cholachat Rujikiatkamjorn and Dr Geng Xueyu from the Wollongong node of the CGSE, in partnership with Dr Richard Kelly and Dr Jay Amaratunga of Coffey Geotechnics, have won the University of Wollongong Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Research Partnership with Industry.

    The Wollongong geotechnical research team, under the leadership of Professor Buddhima Indraratna, has collaborated extensively with Coffey Geotechnics on various ARC Linkage projects associated with ground improvement, including the application of vertical drains and vacuum consolidation for the development of transport infrastructure on soft soils.

    This research partnership has led to tangible results including improved delivery of services and new design techniques, numerous high-calibre journal articles, and invited keynote lectures at leading geotechnical conferences.

    The research outcomes have been incorporated in new Australian Standard on the “Execution of Vertical Drains in Soft Soils” launched in February 2012, led by Dr Jay Amaratunga. The techniques developed in this research have been tested in the field and applied to Port of Brisbane reclamation, the Ballina Bypass, and the rail track upgrade at Sandgate (near Newcastle).